
Several Texas Laws {Health & Safety Code, Chapters 81, 84, and 87} require specific information regarding notifiable conditions to be provided 
to local and state health departments (CEPDPH & TDSHS). Health care providers, hospitals, laboratories, schools, and others are to report 
patients who are suspected of having a notifiable condition (Chapter 97, Title 25, Texas Administrative Code). Failure to report is a Class B 
misdemeanor that carries a sentence of up to 180 days and a fine up to $2000 under the Texas Health and Safety Code, §81.049. 

TEXAS LAW 

The HIPAA Privacy Rule [45 C.F.R. Section 164.512(b)] allows reporting without authorization for public health purposes and where 
required by law. 

HIPAA 

Website: 
EPHealth.com
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ANY OUTBREAK, EXOTIC EMERGING DISEASE, OR UNUSUAL GROUP EXPRESSION OF DISEASE THAT MAY BE OF PUBLIC 
HEALTH CONCERN MUST BE REPORTED IMMEDIATELY. THIS INCLUDES ANY CASE OF A SELECT AGENT.

Notifiable Conditions 2023

Phone: (915) 212-6520 Fax: (915) 212-0170
Email: epireporting@elpasotexas.gov 

24/7 Confidential Web-based Disease Reporting System
Https://ElPaso.phims.org/phims/Login.aspx


